Raising Racially Conscious Children in Today’s America

Free Hugs in Charleston

Click that link ^ Read the story

I have been given the opportunity to raise two beautiful boys. Blonde haired, blue eyed boys who will grow up in the luxury of middle class. I’ve read commentaries like this before. Instilling the sensibility in our children to recognize the problems in the world and the privileges they are automatically granted because the color of their skin and their socio-economic standing. It is certainly what I plan to do, what I’m trying to do. Parenting on its own is a difficult task, just as difficult is navigating these lessons in life with little ones. What do I say? How do I say it? What is appropriate and when?

Then I see this photo. I see this little shaggy haired toddler hugging someone because he loves people and loves to hug. I see my own son.

A realization occurs- so simple really. If I raise my kids to love and to empathize, if I raise my kids to seek out honest and reliable information about the world around them, and if I continue to be, as an example, the kind of person I want them to be- the rest will come.

Do I think it’s important to use opportunities, when they present themselves in our community or on our TV’s, to talk to my children about the “what” and “why?” Absolutely. But if they aren’t empathetic, it won’t matter. If they aren’t taught to love people for the sake of humanity, then it won’t matter.

I echo Eugene Victor Debs, I share his sentiments. I want my children to as well. As long as others must struggle for the same rights, whether granted legally or socially, none of us are truly free.

I feel like I’m starting to rant, but honestly, I’m getting to be tired of it.

I’m tired of these talking heads on TV, absolute dishonesty and filth coming out of their mouth, literally poisoning the minds of the nation. I’m tired of the people who are satisfied to take their word for, especially when the truth is a 10 second fact-check away. I’m tired of this game of distraction, trying to spin things that are so evidently clear just to fit an agenda.

There’s a serious problem in the country, there’s a serious problem in this state. We have to change the way we think, act, and talk about these issues- or we’ll fail.

I encourage everyone to evaluate how they live…are you doing anything to help or are you hindering?

“If it had not been for the discontent of a few fellows who had not been satisfied with their conditions, you would still be living in caves. Intelligent discontent is the mainspring of civilization. Progress is born of agitation. It is agitation or stagnation.” Eugene V. Debs

Leave a comment